Speak Up Be Safe » Fourth Grade Lessons

Fourth Grade Lessons

Speak Up Be Safe
A comprehensive, developmentally appropriate program designed for first through sixth grade students that focuses on topics such as: 
  • Child abuse
  • Bullying
  • Sexual harassment prevention
  • Technology safety
Two safety-focused classroom lessons are facilitated at each grade level as indicated. Take-home educational materials are distributed among students to share with parents and caregivers and to encourage relevant discussion. Curriculum covers the major topics that are indicated, along with relevant key terms. 
Program Curriculum 
Parents - if you would like to offer feedback on your child's experience with the Speak Up Be Safe curriculum, please do so here.

Speak Up Be Safe - Grade 4 Major Topics and Key Terms:


  • It is the responsibility of adults to keep children safe.


  • Safety Rule #1: “It’s MY body!”  The students learn they have a right to be safe and that includes their bodies.


  • Students learn about respecting themselves and others and how to do this, including protecting private body parts.


  • There are four types of child abuse: physical, sexual, emotional, and neglect.


  • There are different kinds of child sexual abuse: touching, showing or talking about private body parts, as well as pornography.


  • Most child abuse happens with people children know – adults or other children.


  • Safety Rule #2: “Ask an adult if I am safe.” – Children are encouraged to use this rule in situations that might put them at risk for injury or abuse. If a child is wondering if a situation is safe, it means they need to get to a safe adult who can help them.


  • Students learn to build a “safety net” with knowledge of the safety rules and with safe adults, who they can talk to if they feel unsafe or have been abused.


  • Students learn that some people who abuse children might use force, but most use tricks or bribes. Students also learn about different tricks abusers might use with children.


  • Students learn about bullying and cyberbullying, and that it is hurtful and wrong.


  • Safety Rule #3: “I have choices.”  Students learn that in situations where they might not be safe, they can think about what choices they have to help them get to a safe place. Your child talked about choices, such as to run, escape, speak-up, ignore, stay away, and tell.


  • Safety Rule #4: “Tell someone.”  Students learn it is important to tell a safe adult when someone is not following the safety rules. Your child learned that bad secrets, or secrets about abuse or not following the safety rules, are secrets that SHOULD be told.


  • Students learn that safe adults are people with whom they feel safe. Students are encouraged to identify safe adults they would tell about abuse or dangerous situations.


  • Safety Rule #5: “It’s never my fault.”  Students learn that child abuse is never their fault, even if they are tricked, and it is never too late to tell someone.