Speak Up Be Safe » Sixth Grade Lessons

Sixth Grade Lessons

Speak Up Be Safe
A comprehensive, developmentally appropriate program designed for first through sixth grade students that focuses on topics such as: 
  • Child abuse
  • Bullying
  • Sexual harassment prevention
  • Technology safety
Two safety-focused classroom lessons are facilitated at each grade level as indicated. Take-home educational materials are distributed among students to share with parents and caregivers and to encourage relevant discussion. Curriculum covers the major topics that are indicated, along with relevant key terms. 
Program Curriculum 
Parents - if you would like to offer feedback on your child's experience with the Speak Up Be Safe curriculum, please do so here.

Speak Up Be Safe - Grade 6 Major Topics and Key Terms:


·       It is the responsibility of adults to keep children safe. However children can help keep themselves safe by following the safety rules.


·       Students learn that as they grow and mature the risks for child abuse change. For example, they talk about how some things like having unsupervised time on cell phones and computers may increase risk of being bullied, whereas having a cell phone to call for help may also decrease risk.


·       Students learn about personal boundaries, including how listen to their instincts to determine if their boundaries are being crossed.


  • There are four types of child abuse: physical, sexual, emotional, and neglect.


  • There are different kinds of child sexual abuse: touching, showing or talking about private body parts, as well as pornography.


·       Students learn that abuse usually happens by someone the child knows.


·       Safety Rule #1: “It’s MY body!” Students learn that they deserve to be safe.


·       Safety Rule #2: “Ask an adult if I am safe.” Students are encouraged to talk with adults when they are concerned about the potential for danger.


·       Students learn about the importance of nurturing the whole person including the physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual self.


·       Safety Rule #4: “I have choices” in resistance skills that can be used when encountering potentially abusive situations or relationships.


·       Children apply resistance skills to examples of abusive situations.


·       Students learn about the misuse of power in abuse situations.


·       Students learn to advocate for the safety of other children.


·       Students learn about the dangers of the Internet and cell phones, and how to use these tools safely.


·       Students learn that cyberbullying is wrong and can be hurtful.


·       Safety Rule #5: “It’s never my fault.” Children learned that child abuse is never their fault.